If you unfriend someone on Venmo, they won't be notified that they've been unfriended. However, they'll be able to find your Venmo account if they search for your handle.
There are many reasons why you might want to remove friends from your Venmo friends list and I've had to do this myself on a few occasions. Sometimes, your Venmo friend list may be filled with people that you no longer need to perform transactions with.
In this article, we'll discuss the reasons why you might need to unfriend someone on Venmo, and whether they'll be notified in any way. We'll also look at some alternatives to unfriending a Venmo user. Let's get right into it.
Venmo won't notify users when they have been unfriended. However, it's still possible for them to find out if they do a little investigating.
While they won't be notified that they've been removed from your list, they might potentially find out on their own. They'll still be able to search for your profile and see that you're no longer their friend.
Venmo works as a social payment platform. It's different from other payment apps due to its friends activity feed. This displays the transactions you and your friends make on Venmo.
When you sign up on Venmo, the app will ask for access to your phone contacts. If you allow this, it'll use phone numbers to search for your friend's Venmo profile and add them.
Being someone's friend allows you to see the other person's transactions. It's also an excellent way to ensure that your payments are going to the right person.
Your Venmo friend list is meant to keep other users that you regularly exchange money with. However, sometimes that may change and you need to remove a friend from your list. This is a straightforward process. Let's take a look at how to delete a friend on Venmo.
You can remove a friend through the website or the mobile app.
To remove friends on the website:
On the mobile app:
There are many reasons why you might want to remove a friend. Perhaps you don't want people to see who you regularly exchange money with. Maybe you're tired of seeing their activity on your feed. Regardless of your reason, there are some other alternatives to removing someone from your friend list.
Let's take a look at the alternatives to removing a friend on Venmo.
Venmo has three privacy settings that you can choose from: public, friends only, and private. Let's look at what each privacy setting means.
Your Venmo privacy settings are public by default. You can follow these steps to change them to private.
Your reason for wanting to remove a friend might be that you don't want other users you have no affiliation with to see who you exchange money with. If this is the case, you can choose to hide your friends from other Venmo users.
To hide your friends, follow these steps:
The first time you sign into Venmo, it will ask for permission to access your phone contacts. If you allow it, the app will automatically add friends to your list. After being given permission, the app will continue to automatically include new phone contacts as they are added to your phone.
Venmo also has an option that allows you to sync contacts from Facebook to the app.
While syncing is a handy feature, you might find unwanted contacts showing up as Venmo friends. If you want to get rid of this, you can adjust your auto-sync setting.
Follow these steps to turn off auto-sync on Venmo.
In some situations, you might want to take things a step beyond unfriending someone. Or, you might want to remove yourself from a Venmo friend's list. In this case, the best option is to block them.
If you block someone on Venmo, they will be removed from your list. Likewise, you'll also be removed from their friend list. You and the other user won't be able to find each other's Venmo account through a search.
The other party will not be notified when they are blocked.
After you block someone on Venmo, the notes attached to any transactions you have with them will be deleted. Your name will appear as "XXX" in all the transactions you had with them. For example, if they view your old transactions, they will simply see only "XXX paid you".
Your account will appear deleted to them, and they won't know they've been blocked or removed from your list. The only way for them to confirm if your account is still active is to search for you with another account.
If blocking someone is your preferred option, you can do that easily. Here's how to block someone on Venmo:
Venmo is a social payment platform that allows users to add other users to a friend list. Sometimes, you might feel the need to remove a friend from this list. You can easily unfriend someone if you need to, and they won't be notified.
This can be done through either the mobile app or the website by navigating to the person's profile page and using the "Unfriend" or "Remove as friend" option. You can also choose to make your account private, hide your list, or block users if you're looking for an alternative.